New Delhi, Sep 30: President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday approved the appointment of Governors to five states and Lieutenant Governor to one union territory. Here are brief profiles of the new appointees to the top constitutional posts.
Tamil Nadu Governor: Banwarilal Purohit

Purohit, a former state cabinet minister in Maharashtra, entered the political field in the early ’70s. He was first elected to the legislative assembly in 1978, from the Nagpur East constituency. Apart from politics, he is also known in the regional journalistic circles, for reviving the English daily ‘The Hitavada’, which was founded by pre-independence leader Gopal Krishna Gokhale
Bihar Governor: Satya Pal Malik
Satya pal Malik
The appointment of a full-time Governor to Bihar fell due following the nomination of Ram Nath Kovind for the President’s post in July. The new appointee – Malik – has a deep political career, being associated with the BJP for nearly four decades. He has served as the party’s national vice president. In terms of parliamentary experience, Malik was a two-time Rajya Sabha MP, and has also served as the Union Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Tourism under the government of Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands: Admiral (Retd) Devendra Kumar Joshi
Admiral (retd) Joshi was the chief of naval staff between 2012 to 2014, subsequent to which he retired. For his services, he has been awarded with the ati vishist seva medal, yudh seva medal, nau sena medal and the vishist seva medal. He also holds the experience of commanding the Vizag-based eastern fleet of the Indian Navy.
Assam Governor: Prof Jagdish Mukhi
Prof Jagdesh Mukhi, one of the tallest politicians of Delhi-NCR, was appointed as the Assam Governor. Mukhi’s career in active politics dates back to the anti-emergency agitation. He was first elected to the Delhi legislative assembly in 1980, from the Janakpuri seat. Mukhi represented the constituency for seven consecutive terms. Under the BJP government in the national capital, he held the ministries of finance, planning, taxation and excise. From 1998 to 2008, he served as the leader of opposition.
Meghalaya Governor: Ganga Prasad
Prasad, a veteran BJP leader, hails from Bihar. He was first elected to the state’s legislative council in 1994. He continued to remain an MLC for 18 years, till 2012. During his stint in the state’s upper house, Prasad served as BJP’s legislative leader for a short term, after which the party appointed him as the deputy leader.
Arunachal Pradesh Governor: Brig (Retd) B D Mishra
Brig (retd) Mishra, the former commander of NSG (black cat commandos) counter hi-jack task force, is best known for his valorous role in rescuing 124 passengers and crew members after the Indian Airlines flight was hijacked by terrorists at the Raja Sansi airfield on April 24, 1993. Prior to his role as the leader of NSG’s anti-hijack wing, Mishra served in various wars and military conflicts, including the 1962 Sino-Indian war and Indo-Pakistan military conflict in 1971, which led to the creation of Bangladesh.